Call Us Today ~ 916 993-9102

UPDATE: Department of Health Care Services

UPDATE: Department of Health Care Services

The New California Dental Director is good news!

CDHA President Lygia Jolley, Past President Karine Strickland and Jennifer Tannehill, CDHA’s lobbyist with Aaron Read & Associates, had the opportunity to meet with the new Dental Director for California. His name is Dr. Jayanth Kumar and the Governor appointed him to be the Dental Director at the CA Department of Public Health. The meeting went very well. CDHA is looking forward to a great working relationship with Dr. Kumar on behalf of dental hygienists and our patients.

Dr. Kumar has an interest in gathering data that supports effective preventative services to patients. CDHA hopes to be a resource for Dr. Kumar by supplying information to his office that shows what the most effective preventative dental hygiene services are and how patients can better access those services.

Please see the short note below about Dr. Kumar and his appointment as Dental Director.

Jayanth Kumar, 61, of Clifton Park, NY, has been appointed state dental director in the Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion at the California Department of Public Health. Kumar has been director of the Bureau of Dental Health at the New York State Department of Health since 2012, where he has served in several positions since 1980, including director of oral health surveillance and research and director of the New York State Dental Public Health Residency. He has been an associate professor at the University of Albany School of Public Health since 1990 and was a dentist in private practice from 1980 to 2008. Kumar is chair of the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors’ Perinatal Oral Health Committee and a member of the American Dental Association’s National Fluoridation Advisory Committee. Kumar earned a Doctor of Dentistry degree from Bangalore University and a Master of Public Health degree from the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health. This position does not require senate confirmation and the compensation is $150,000. Kumar is registered without party preference.

Lygia Jolley, RDH, BA, CDHA President
Jennifer Tannehill, Aaron Read & Associates, CDHA Legislative Advocate
Darla Dale, RDHAP, BSDH, CDHA Alternative Practice Council Chair
Karine Strickland, RDHAP, CDHA Immediate Past President